Organized Cuteness

Erin’s play these days consists of one very elaborate activity- arranging her babies and stuffed animals on the floor with various blankets, fake food, baby toys, and most lately, dish towels and items from my old purse. She gets so into it!  Then there are 10-20-30 blankets and towels covered in dog hair. I shake them out, dog hair floats in the air, I think that maybe I should vacuum more often. But then I remember that I hate vacuuming.

The activity started months ago with arranging babies on blankets, a la naptime at school.  The other day, Erin found her old baby toys in a bin and has been having a blast sharing them with her inanimate friends. Here we see that each baby has a baby toy on his/her blanket.

013 012

Yesterday, Erin began to take our dish towels out of a drawer in the kitchen and arrange them as well. I told her that those needed to stay in the kitchen, but remembered I had a pile of old ones that I used to use as rags for cleaning and whatnot. So here we have babies and animals on dish towels with baby toys.

003

In the latest twist, babies and animals, each with a baby toy and an old card from my wallet.

018

M&M with rattles and a Sprint calling card.

019

Piglet with a octopus toy and a Delta Skymiles card

017

Puppy has a pumpkin rattle bracelet, a ladybug teether, and a health insurance card

Oh yeah, and the other day Erin helped me unpack groceries. I had bought a bunch of those boxes of macaroni and cheese for her (okay, and sometimes us), so I asked her to put them in the cabinet. I forgot to check her work, but later, I opened the cabinet and saw this:

006

I have to say, I was a little taken aback by the neatness of the arrangement.

One thought on “Organized Cuteness

  1. This is adorable! On so many fronts. First off, I love how piglet is napping face down on her stomach… as most babies do like to nap. I also love how organized and methodical she is. She’s a kid after my own heart. I hope she can soon have some organization apprenticeship time under her aunt maggie – I will teach her a few good tricks of the trade.

Leave a Reply

